Architecture, Berlin, Everyday, Favorite Places, History, Knowledge, Personal, Society

U Nollendorfplatz

Watched “Berlin in Farbe 1933-1939 – Zeitreise mit Stefan Aust” today, a documentary in color of Berlin 1933-1939. Adding color to a reality I´m accustomed comes in black and white, makes an interesting difference.

These two images are of U Nollendorfplatz, one old (1903) and one more recent. Remember this particular station, one morning on a vacation a few years back I was heading towards Wannsee and Potsdam from U Wittenbergplatz. Mornings are not when I sparkle, quickly realizing I was heading in the wrong direction and jumped off at U Nollendorfplatz. A man approached me on his way to a fair, asking for help getting to his destination. He was dressed in business attire, in my case it was one of those mornings (usually I get it right) neither I had everything under control. In Potsdam a deja vu happened, as the center faded away in the distance, on one public transportation ride. Funny thing, situations like these are those I remember the most.

A Staubkind tune sets the tone this day. 1024px-Berlin,_Schoeneberg,_Nollendorfplatz,_U-Bahnhof,_1903 U-Bahnhof_Nollendorfplatz,_U2_Level_20130727_1
Images via: wikipedia, wikipedia

For more VK, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest & Bloglovin 

Standard

20 thoughts on “U Nollendorfplatz

    • Most certainly, one time I even ended up with takeaway from a cafe. When vacationing I like to pretend I´m a local, but at that point my German was very slim and I must have said yes to a question of taking it with me. One moment I stood on the street with a paper bag in my hand 😉

    • German is one of the languages I find alluring 😉 Berlin is definitely worth a visit. Think it has a great mix of history and fun. A guided boat trip on the river Spree is highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

